#domesticthrowdown

IMG_1611

I am the girl you don’t necessarily want to have over for board games.  Or maybe you do?  It depends on how you feel about apathy and/or trash talk.

Usually, I hate board games, ESPECIALLY when it’s a new game and you start breaking out that little folded up white sheet.  You somehow enthusiastically start to recite lifeless jargon about players, points, and penalties…

Kill me.

I came to hang out and eat junk food.  Had I known there would be math involved, I would have had “plans” when you called me up.  Those “plans” probably would have involved my bathtub and Pinterest.  (Is there any other place to browse Pinterest?)

But no, you gave me the old bait and switch.  I’m trapped at your house, and 7PM just started to feel REALLY late.  I thinly conceal my apathy and try to figure out how I can at least get the chip dip container closer to my end of the parcheesi board.  (Does parcheesi even have a board?  Who cares?  It sucks!)

But then someone says, “Hey!  This is complicated!  Let’s just play Taboo instead!”  Suddenly, the “Rocky” theme starts to play in the background.  Even the cheese dip looses it’s appeal.  I survey the room and find the alpha male (or female) and prepare to cement my place in the pack.  There’s no math involved here, and I’m out for BLOOD.

I don’t care about sports, I don’t usually care about board games, but I’ve just started a war with my friend, and to me, the stakes have never been higher.  Welcome to our #domesticthrowdown.  We both have a lot of sewing projects to finish up through the fall and then there’s Christmas, so we’ve turned it into a friendly (and by friendly, I mean she better say her prayers) competition.

The rules are simple:  Whichever one of us posts the most completed sewing projects between now and December 25 wins.  There’s no prize so far, but we would consider sponsorship offers.  😉  So far, I’m ahead by one.

You can follow along on Instagram, but this week, I’ve already submitted three entries.  The one at the beginning of this post is for the tooth fairy, since my son has his first loose tooth, then I needed to patch a hole in my 2 year old’s jeans, and, of course, another puppet!  So far, my strategy’s been quantity over quality, but after she posted a MERMAID costume, I’m feeling like I need to do something a little more complex…
IMG_1614 IMG_1646

Now I must get back to sewing.

Happy Monday!

(P.S.  If you liked MY trash talk, you should see what the British said about us today… 😉 )

One thought on “#domesticthrowdown

Leave a Reply

