Sorry, my blog sucks…

IMG_0033

Well, this is awkward.

Has it been a year?  It’s been close, right?  At some point in September 2013, I closed up shop and put up the password.  Only my very favorite followers were allowed access to the archives.  Well, basically only one really sweet commenter.  My mom didn’t even make the cut.

There were a few reasons.  We were about to close on a house, both my kids were being evaluated (some more) for autism spectrum disorder, our budget was super, super tight because of all those up-front costs of homeownership…  Oh yeah, and I’d just stumbled upon the websites where people go to make fun of bloggers.  Don’t worry.  Nobody was making fun of me (my blog is too small and boring to get that kind of attention), but I knew eventually they would find me and rip me apart.

I was feeling anxious, insecure, and suddenly ready to become a very private person.

Except…

Not a day has gone by since I said, “I’m done,” that I’ve not been writing blog posts in my head.

I’ve missed blogging.  I’ve missed it badly.  I know I was one of those 2011 bandwagon mommy bloggers.  I can’t deny I’ve sometimes been self-important, un-clever, or downright boring in this space.  The truth is, this blog sucks.  The archives are pathetic.

But, I really like making this sucky content.

It might not get better, guys.  I can’t even promise I’ll blog more consistently.

But, to be honest, I think I owe it to myself and in some (narcissistic) way, to the universe, to open back up the archives and try my hand at this again.  I LOVE reading other people’s blogs.  Everybody has their own take, and it’s one of my favorite parts of the internet.  At the end of the day, I don’t want to be that gal just consuming everyone else’s blog content, thinking to myself “That’s great, but I would have done it this way…”  No, I want to jump in and create!  It’s only fair, right?  Give a penny, take a penny?

So, I’m working my way back with a simple challenge.

The Experiment

For the next two weeks, I, Mac, will attempt to NOT check my Instagram, Pinterest, or Bloglovin’ feeds, unless I have produced some content for that specific platform that day.

You read that right.

No Pinterest, until I have found something great to pin.  That’s easy.
No Instagram, until I have a picture to upload.  Little harder.
No Bloglovin’ (or Feedly, or email blog subscriptions, you get the idea), until I have offered something on my own blog.  (EDIT: It’s been about five days, and I’m changing the rules.  No Bloglovin until I’ve spent at least 15 minutes working on my own blog that day.  I’d rather have posts that are really well worked out than post boring stuff every day, and I don’t want to wait a week at a time before catching up on my blog subscriptions.  They’re my favorite.  What can I say?)
No television, until I have sent in my sitcom pilot–okay, okay.  Maybe I’ll draw the line there.

And that, my friends, is how you come back.

-Mac-

P.S. Hi!

4 thoughts on “Sorry, my blog sucks…

  1. ” I can’t deny I’ve sometimes been self-important, un-clever, or downright boring in this space. The truth is, this blog sucks. The archives are pathetic.”

    Yep. You’re wrong. I LOVE your blog. It’s literally the only blog I follow. I’m actually surprised it took me so long to see you finally updated!

    You’re a beautiful, crafty, creative mom who understands real life struggles. I’ve never read a boring post from you!

    I’ve been praying for you in your blogging absence! I’m glad you’re back to blogging, even if it is temporary. 🙂

Leave a Reply

