15 Minute Fashions: The Radiator Springs Redo Tee

I promise, this will NOT be all I blog about from now on, but I am just so stinking proud of this t-shirt!  (Not to mention the adorable little boy wearing it!)

IMG_1935

This was inspired by another Make it and Love it tutorial, that I found in the process of working on my Dolman top last week.  If you didn’t catch my last post, I’m basically just breaking my sewing projects down into little 15 minute chunks, and documenting my progress with snapshots.  It makes me feel like I can actually tackle some of the projects I’d usually put off due to “lack of time”.  Anybody can spare 15 minutes here and there!

This one ended up taking me about two hours worth of 15 minute timed segments.  It would have taken a lot less time had I not made a few rookie mistakes.  I’ll post my snippets of 15 minute progress, and if you want to make your own baseball tee, hit her tutorial for very detailed and clear instructions.

IMG_5153

My son loves this shirt.  Like most 4 year olds these days, he’s a car’s fanatic.

IMG_5154

 

But, after a while I noticed these little holes forming in one of the sleeves.  I sent him to preschool in it anyway for a while, but eventually, they were starting to get obvious.  Luckily, my hubby had a shrunken grey shirt to donate to the cause, and, like Lightning McQueen and Sally, I too set out on my own mission to save Radiator Springs!

IMG_5155

 

15 minutes spent cutting the sleeves off the shirt and pinning them to the other t-shirt.

 

 

IMG_5157

 

It shouldn’t have taken me a whole extra 15 minutes to cut the sleeve and cuff pieces, but I made a few miscalculations and ended up cutting both sleeves separately.

 

IMG_5158

In another 15 minutes I had them pinned.  Had I not messed up the cutting step, this too would have gone much faster!

IMG_5160

15 minutes switching out needles and thread in my sewing machine and sewing one sleeve on.

IMG_5161

15 minutes sewing the other sleeve on and trimming down the seems a bit.

IMG_5162

15 minutes getting the collar just right!  I learned a lot from the last time!  This one still wasn’t perfect, but I’m getting there!

IMG_5163

15 minutes sewing the seams that close the arm pieces.  I’m still not sure if I did that step in the proper order…  Plus, see how I messed up  when cutting?  Had I followed the tutorial more closely I wouldn’t even have needed to hem the sleeves!

IMG_5164

 

And 15 minutes topstitching and hemming.  Aaaand….

IMG_1896 IMG_1934  IMG_1937 IMG_1943 IMG_1944 IMG_1945 IMG_1946 IMG_1947

 

Notes:

  • Both my husband and my friend, Stephanie, (who also sews a great deal) were totally confused when I showed them this shirt.  They both thought I had bought it this way.  *WINNING!*
  • I was really going for a 3/4 sleeve length, but I didn’t measure or anything…  I might make them shorter later, but I do kind of like the cozy oversized look.
  • I am so fortunate to have a son that LOVES to get his picture taken!  Like, he’ll literally ask me to take pictures of him when I don’t have my camera out!  I have a feeling he’ll be the type to go for the spotlight when he gets older!  But for now, take five, kid!  You did a great job!

 

Image

8 thoughts on “15 Minute Fashions: The Radiator Springs Redo Tee

Leave a Reply

