iPhone Friday: The Magic of Natural Light for Your Photos!

I’m proud to introduce a new feature:  iPhone Fridays!  As a devoted fangirl, I’m passionate about getting the best use of this magical device.  Hope you enjoy!

The shadows turn a quick shot of the fruit on my table into a dramatic still life.

Though I daydream at the results I could get with the possession of a digital SLR, at this point in my life, the iPhone 4 is my primary and only camera.  Especially now as I’m blogging more frequently, I struggle to get the most professional results possible using only a phone.    Recently, I’ve made a commitment to myself to use ONLY natural light whenever possible.  It’s such a simple trick but it makes A HUGE DIFFERENCE! I’m blessed with great windows in my home, and even if it’s a little dark, there’s just no way to get pure colors like the sun can provide, no matter what camera you’re using!

Even though I’m prone to think of my camera situation as a limitation, when there are little ones involved, being able to capture the moment in a beautiful way from your phone should be a skill we’re all working to develop!  Moments like the one above would probably be lost forever if I were scrambling to find the “real” camera.

Would a tungsten lamp so perfectly capture the sweet pink of these baby lips?

Sometimes you have to use household lighting, like the following shot of me in my bathroom mirror showing off my new bangs:

...and it was all yellow...

When this happens, I try to save the shot by either a) going black and white, or b) making it seem purposely unnatural looking with a crazy filter.  (Like on the Instagram app.)

This looks intentional, if not outright artsy.

ESPECIALLY if you have kids, set yourself up for success by keeping all your windows open and bright during the day!  Try to take the shot as close to a window as possible but make sure you’re not standing in a way that casts a shadow on the subject.  Especially if your subject is standing still, turn off the overhead lights and lamps, because they can make your natural light turn blue with iPhone’s auto white balance.

Above all, take more photos!

Much love,
the.happy.homester

Leave a Reply

