How I made Pumpkin Muffins and Accidentally Kissed a Cashier

My husband says I need to put more of “myself” into this blog.  I’m not sure the internet is ready for it, but you be the judge:

 

 

Let me set the stage.  It’s 6:30 AM.  I’ve been awake with a racing pregnant mind for about an hour now, and I’m starving.  I pick up my Google reader and immediately notice Sweet Verbena’s Pumpkin Muffins.  To make them, you just mix a box of yellow cake mix with a can of pumpkin puree. Bake. Eat. The end.

Realizing I had about a 15 minute window of time before my husband would need to get up and head out the door, I decided to quickly run out, buy the cake mix, and have a breakfast I’d actually ENJOY this morning instead of sharing Cheerios with my toddler.  I threw on a hoodie and sweat pants and rushed out the door, without so much as combing my hair.

Everything was going fine and dandy.  The cashier, a high school aged girl, rang up my cake without event.  But just before I walked away, I said, “Okay!  Have a good day!” AND BLEW THE CASHIER A KISS!!!

You see, “Okay!  Have a good day!” with a kiss is usually how I send my hubby off to work every morning.  My faux paw was equivalent to that awkward moment when you say, “Okay!  Love you!  Bye!” hang up the phone, and then realize it was your boss.  With the slim hope that she didn’t hear me blow the kiss, I sped up my pace and hightailed it out of there!

I only ask that if you’re a teenager in my town and hear your friend talking about the weird kissing lady at the Giant Eagle, please reassure them that you know the weird kissing lady and she’s alright.  She’s just a little too sleepy, a little too pregnant, a little too hungry, and a little too affectionate.

Muffins smell good.  I’m gunna’ go eat now.

13 thoughts on “How I made Pumpkin Muffins and Accidentally Kissed a Cashier

  1. Oh my goodness this is too funny! Thanks for sharing this with me and giving me a good laugh. Hope you at least enjoyed the muffins, so that was worth the trip!

    • LOL! Thanks Katy! The muffins were delish! I ended up taking the rest of the batch with me to a church picnic later that afternoon. Somebody there told me their mother used to do the same recipe, but use it for soft cookies instead!

  2. This is an old Weight Watchers recipe…don’t remember the point value, but it’s supposed to be low fat/ low cal and pretty yummy – if you are doing the WW thing, you can probably look it up on-line. Bon Appetit!

  3. LOL! Love it! My daughter had a similar sleepy moment when she accidentally called her teacher Mommy. She immediately turned bright red and burst into tears.

    Heading to the store to buy the ingredients now….this recipe sounds yummy and perfect for today. Wide awake, so accidentally blown kisses are unlikely! 🙂

  4. This is just too cute! I wish I could try out this recipe, but unfortunately my diet wont let me 😦
    This reminds me of the time I went to Wal-Mart and they were having a sale on shampoo. As we were paying, the cashier asked me if I’d like to try some shampoo, and I just blurted out, “No thanks, it’s against my religion,” then just paid for my stuff and walked away.
    The look on his face was totally worth it.

  5. I was once on the other end of a story like this. I’m the assistant to the Dean at the Univeristy where I work, and one of the junior faculty left a voice mail for me which ended with “I love you! Bye!” I chuckled and wondered what in the world was on her mind at the time. She called the next day to explain that she was pulling into her driveway when she was getting ready to hang up and saw her husband and pooch standing on the porch and was thinking, “I love you,” so she inadvertently said it aloud, into the phone. I’ve known her since she was a first year student, so we both got a good laugh about it. And I’m making those muffins this weekend!

  6. These sound great, and thanks a ton for the chuckle! Definitely making these sometime this week, I’ve already got both ingredients in the pantry… No potential cashier kissing required. 😉

Leave a Reply

